The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    College of William & Mary
   
 
  Nov 20, 2017
 
 
    
2015 - 2016 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

SMS: Administration & Faculty


» SMS Home   » Policies   » Departments   » Course Descriptions   »Faculty  


Administrative Officers - College of William & Mary

W. Taylor Reveley, III President
Michael R. Halleran Provost
Samuel E. Jones Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration
Henry R. Broaddus Vice President for Strategic Initiatives
Virginia M. Ambler Vice President for Student Affairs
Matthew T. Lambert Vice President for University Development
Terry Driscoll Director of Athletics

Administrative Officers - VIMS/SMS

John T. Wells Dean and Director
Linda C. Schaffner Associate Dean, Academic Studies
Mark W. Luckenbach Associate Dean, Research and Advisory Services
Jennifer B. Latour Chief Financial & Administrative Officer
Joseph Martinez Chief Operations Officer
Amy Fisher Director of Development

Office of Academic Studies

Jennifer C. Hay SMS Graduate Registrar and Assistant to the Associate Dean
Contact the Office of Academic Studies  

 

VIMS/SMS Current Faculty

For a complete directory of current faculty, information on their research programs, publications and education activities, click here.

For faculty, by department:

Biological Sciences

Aquatic Health Sciences

Fisheries Science

Physical Sciences


Standish K. Allen, Jr., Professor of Marine Science. B.A., Franklin and Marshall College; M.S., University of Maine; Ph.D., University of Washington. Fisheries Science. ska@vims.edu

Iris C. Anderson, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Colby College; S.M., Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Ph.D., Medical College of Virginia, Virginia Commonwealth University. Biological Sciences. iris@vims.edu

Donna M. Bilkovic, Research Assistant Professor of Marine Science. B.S. & M.S., University of Michigan; Ph.D., College of William & Mary. donnab@vims.edu

Richard W. Brill, Affiliate Faculty and Director of CMER. B.A. Lafayette College; M.S. Northeastern University; Ph.D., University of Hawaii. Fisheries Science. rbrill@vims.edu

John M. Brubaker, Associate Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. A.B., Miami University; Ph.D., Oregon State University. Physical Sciences. brubaker@vims.edu

Deborah A. Bronk, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., University of Miami; Ph.D., University of Maryland. Physical Sciences. bronk@vims.edu

Mark J. Brush, Associate Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Cornell University; Ph.D., University of Rhode Island. Biological Sciences. brush@vims.edu

Elizabeth A. Canuel, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Stonehill College; Ph.D., University of North Carolina. Physical Sciences. ecanuel@vims.edu

Ryan B. Carnegie, Research Associate Professor of Marine Science. B.A., Rutgers University; M.A., College of William and Mary; Ph.D., University of Maine. Aquatic Health Sciences. carnegie@vims.edu

J. Emmett Duffy, Loretta & Lewis Glucksman Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Spring Hill College; M.S., University of Maine; Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Biological Sciences. jeduffy@vims.edu

Mary C. Fabrizio, Moses D. Nunnally Distinguished Associate Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Fordham University; Ph.D., University of Rhode Island. Fisheries Science. mfabrizio@vims.edu

Carl T. Friedrichs, Professor of Marine Science. B.A., Amherst College; Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology/Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution. Physical Sciences. cfried@vims.edu

Marjorie A. M. Friedrichs, Research Associate Professor of Marine Science. B.A., Middlebury College; M.S., M.I.T./Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution Joint Program; Ph.D., Old Dominion University. Biological Sciences. marjy@vims.edu

Donglai Gong, Assistant Professor of Marine Science, B.A./B.S., Rutgers University; M.S., Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Ph.D., Rutgers University. Physical Sciences.

John E. Graves, Chancellor Professor of Marine Science. B.A., Revelle College, University of California, San Diego; Ph.D., Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego. Fisheries Science. graves@vims.edu

Robert C. Hale, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., B.A., Wayne State University; Ph.D., College of William and Mary. Aquatic Health Sciences. hale@vims.edu

Courtney K. Harris, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., University of Virginia; M.S., University of California, Berkeley; M.S., Ph.D., University of Virginia. Physical Sciences. ckharris@vims.edu

Troy W. Hartley, Research Associate Professor of Marine Science and Director, Virginia Sea Grant. B.S., University of Vermont; M.A., George Mason University; Ph.D., University of Michigan. thartley@vims.edu

Kirk J. Havens, Assistant Research Professor of Marine Science. B.S. and M.S. Old Dominion University; Ph.D., George Mason University. kirk@vims.edu

Christopher J. Hein, Assistant Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Cornell University; Ph.D., Boston University.  Physical Sciences. hein@vims.edu

Carl H. Hershner, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Bucknell University; Ph.D., University of Virginia. Biological Sciences. carl@vims.edu

Eric J. Hilton, Cornelia Brackenridge Talbot Term Distinguished Associate Professor of Marine Science. B.S., M.S., Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst. Fisheries Science. ehilton@vims.edu

John M. Hoenig, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Cornell University; M.S., Ph.D., University of Rhode Island. Fisheries Science. hoenig@vims.edu

David S. Johnson, Assistant Professor of Marine Science, B.S., University of Central Arkansas; Ph.D., Louisiana State University. Biological Sciences. dsjohnson@vims.edu

David M. Kaplan, Assistant Professor of Marine Science. B.S., University, Providence; M.A. and Ph.D., University of California at Santa Barbara. Fisheries Science. dmk@vims.edu

Matthew L. Kirwan, Assistant Professor of Marine Science. B.S., College of William and Mary; Ph.D., Duke University. Physical Sciences. kirwan@vims.edu

Steven A. Kuehl, Professor of Marine Science. B.A., Lafayette College; M.S., Ph.D., North Carolina State University. Physical Sciences. kuehl@vims.edu

Robert J. Latour, Professor of Marine Science. B.A., Western New England College; M.BMA, Ph.D., North Carolina State University. Fisheries Science. latour@vims.edu

Romuald N. Lipcius, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., University of Rhode Island; Ph.D., Florida State University. Fisheries Science. rom@vims.edu

Mark W. Luckenbach, Professor of Marine Science and Associate Dean, Research & Advisory Services. B.S., University of North Carolina; Ph.D., University of South Carolina. Biological Science. luck@vims.edu

Jerome P.-Y. Maa, Professor of Marine Science. B.S. and M.S., National Cheng-Kung University; Ph.D., University of Florida. Physical Sciences. maa@vims.edu

Roger L. Mann, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., University of East Anglia; Ph.D., University of Wales. Fisheries Science. rmann@vims.edu

Jan R. McDowell, Research Assistant Professor of Marine Science, B.A., University of Iowa; Ph.D., College of William & Mary. Fisheries Science. mcdowell@vims.edu

Christine N. Meynard, Research Assistant Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile; Ph.D., University of California, Davis. Biological Sciences. cnmeynard@vims.edu

Kenneth A. Moore, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Pennsylvania State University; M.S., University of Virginia; Ph.D., University of Maryland. Biological Sciences. moore@vims.edu

Michael C. Newman, A Marshall Acuff Jr., Professor of Marine Science. B.A., M.S, University of Connecticut; Ph.D., Rutgers University. Aquatic Health Sciences. newman@vims.edu

Robert J. Orth, Professor of Marine Science. B.A., Rutgers University; M.A., University of Virginia; Ph.D., University of Maryland. Biological Sciences. jjorth@vims.edu

James E. Perry, III, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Murray State University; Ph.D., College of William and Mary. Biological Sciences. jperry@vims.edu

William G. Reay, Research Associate Professor of Marine Science. B.S., George Mason University; M.A., College of William and Mary; Ph.D., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. Physical Sciences. wreay@vims.edu

Kimberly S. Reece, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., University of Rochester; Ph.D., Cornell University. Aquatic Health Sciences. kreece@vims.edu

Linda C. Schaffner, Professor of Marine Science and Associate Dean of Academic Studies. B.A., Drew University; M.A., Ph.D., College of William and Mary. Biological Sciences. linda@vims.edu

Andrew Scheld, Assistant Professor of Marine Science. B.S., University of Massachusetts, Amherst; M.S., University of Rhode Island; Ph.D., University of Washington. Fisheries Science. scheld@vims.edu

Rochelle D. Seitz, Research Professor of Marine Science. B.A., Colgate University; M.A., Ph.D., College of William & Mary. Biological Sciences. seitz@vims.edu

Elizabeth H. Shadwick, Assistant Professor of Marine Science. B.S., McGill University; M.S., University of Alberta; Ph.D., Dalhousie University. Physical Sciences. shadwick@vims.edu

Jian Shen, Research Associate Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Shanghai Teacher's University, M.A., Ph.D., College of William and Mary. Physical Sciences. shen@vims.edu

Jeffrey D. Shields, Professor of Marine Science. B.A., University of California, Santa Barbara; M.S., University of California, Berkeley; Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara. Environmental and Aquatic Animal Health. jeff@vims.edu

Juliette L. Smith, Assistant Professor of Marine Science. B.S., University of Buffalo, SUNY; M.S., University of New Hampshire; Ph.D., College of Environmental Science and Forestry, SUNY. Aquatic Health Sciences. jlsmith@vims.edu

Walker O. Smith, Jr., Associate Professor of Marine Science. B.S., University of Rochester; Ph.D, Duke University. Biological Sciences. wos@vims.edu

Bongkeun Song, Associate Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Dongguk University, Korea; M.S., Ph.D., Rutgers University. Biological Sciences. songb@vims.edu

Deborah K. Steinberg, CSX Professor of Marine Science. B.A., University of California, Santa Barbara; Ph.D., University of California, Santa Cruz. Biological Sciences. debbies@vims.edu

Michael A. Unger, Associate Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Michigan State University; M.S., Ph.D., College of William and Mary. Aquatic Health Sciences. munger@vims.edu

Wolfgang Vogelbein, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Southampton College; M.S., California State University; Ph.D., Louisiana State University. Aquatic Health Sciences. wolf@vims.edu

Harry Wang, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., National Taiwan University; Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University. Physical Sciences. wang@vims.edu

Andrew R. Wargo, Assistant Professor of Marine Science, B.A., University of Vermont; Ph.D., University of Edinburgh. Aquatic Health Sciences. arwargo@vims.edu

John T. Wells, Professor of Marine Science and Dean and Director. B.S., Virginia Polytechnic Institute; M.S., Old Dominion University; Ph.D., Louisiana State University. Physical Sciences. wells@vims.edu

Kevin C. Weng, Assistant Professor of Marine Science, B.A., Williams College; M.S., University of Hawaii (Manoa); Ph.D., Stanford University. Fisheries Science. kevinweng@vims.edu

Yinglong Joseph Zhang, Research Associate Professor; B.S., Peking University, China; M.S./Ph.D. The University of Wollongong, Australia. Physical Sciences. yjzhang@vims.edu

VIMS/SMS Emeritus Faculty

Henry Aceto, Jr., Professor Emeritus of Biology and Marine Science. B.S., State University of New York, Albany; M.S., University of California, Berkeley; Ph.D., University of Texas.

Herbert M. Austin, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., Grove City College; M.S., University of Puerto Rico; Ph.D., Florida State University.

Thomas A. Barnard, Jr., Assistant Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.A., Milligan College; M.A., College of William and Mary.

Rudolf H. Bieri, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. Dr.rer.nat. Johann Gutenberg University.

John D. Boon, III, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.A., Rice University; M.A., Ph.D., College of William and Mary.

Eugene M. Burreson, Chancellor Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., Eastern Oregon College; M.S., Ph.D., Oregon State University.

Robert J. Byrne, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. M.S., Ph.D., University of Chicago.

Mark E. Chittenden, Jr., Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.A., Hobart College; M.S., Ph.D., Rutgers University.

Fu-Lin Chu, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., The Chinese University of Hong Kong; M.S., University of Rochester; Ph.D., College of William and Mary.

Robert J. Diaz, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.A., LaSalle College; M.S., Ph.D., University of Virginia; D.H.C., University of Gothenberg, Sweden. Biological Sciences.

William D. DuPaul, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., Bridgewater State College; M.A., Ph.D., College of William and Mary.

David A. Evans, Associate Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.A., M.A., Cambridge University; D.Phil., Oxford University.

Leonard W. Haas, Associate Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. A.B., Dartmouth College; M.S., University of Rhode Island; Ph.D., College of William and Mary.

Carl H. Hobbs, III, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., Union College; M.S., University of Massachusetts; Ph.D., University of Mississippi. Physical Sciences.

Robert J. Huggett, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. M.S., Scripps Institution of Oceanography; Ph.D., College of William and Mary.

Howard I. Kator, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., Harpur College; Ph.D., Florida State University. Environmental and Aquatic Animal Health.

Albert Y. Kuo, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., National Taiwan University; M.S., University of Iowa; Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University.

Maurice P. Lynch, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. A.B., Harvard University; M.A., Ph.D., College of William and Mary.

William G. MacIntyre, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., M.S., Ph.D., Dalhousie University.

John D. Milliman, Chancellor Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S. University of Rochester; M.S., University of Washington (Seattle); Ph.D., University of Miami. Physical Sciences.

John A. Musick, A. Marshall Acuff, Jr. Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. A.B., Rutgers University; M.A., Ph.D., Harvard University.

Maynard M. Nichols, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., Columbia University; M.S., Scripps Institution of Oceanography; Ph.D., University of California at Los Angeles.

Frank O. Perkins, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.A., University of Virginia; M.S., Ph.D., Florida State University.

Evon P. Ruzecki, Associate Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. A.B., Knox College; M.S., University of Wisconsin; Ph.D., University of Virginia.

Gene M. Silberhorn, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., Eastern Michigan University; M.S., West Virginia University; Ph.D., Kent State University.

Dennis L. Taylor, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.A., University of Pennsylvania; Ph.D., University of Wales.

N. Bartlett Theberge, Jr., Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., J.D., College of William and Mary; LL.M., University of Miami.

Peter A. Van Veld, Associate Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; M.A., College of William and Mary; Ph.D., University of Georgia. Environmental and Aquatic Animal Health.

Kenneth L. Webb, Chancellor Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. A.B., Antioch College; M.S., Ph.D., Ohio State University.

Richard L. Wetzel, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., M.S., University of West Florida; Ph.D., University of Georgia.

Frank J. Wojcik, Assistant Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., University of Massachusetts; M.S., University of Alaska.

L. Donelson Wright, Chancellor Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.A., University of Miami; M.A., University of Sydney; Ph.D., Louisiana State University.