The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    College of William & Mary
  Dec 18, 2017
2017 - 2018 Graduate Catalog

Public Policy Faculty

Program Director

John B. Gilmour Verkuil Professor of Government and Public Policy (Ph.D., University of California-Berkeley).

Graduate Director

Elaine S. McBeth Associate Director and Adjunct Professor of Economics and Public Policy (M.A., Virginia).


Berhanu Abegaz (Economics) (Ph.D., Pennsylvania), David P. Aday, Jr. (Sociology) (Ph.D., Kansas), Lynda L. Butler (Law) (J.D., Virginia), Donald E. Campbell (CSX Professor of Economics and Public Policy) (Ph.D., Princeton), Neal E. Devins (Law) (J.D., Vanderbilt), Davison M. Douglas (Law) (LL.B. and Ph.D., Yale), Pamela L. Eddy (Education) (Ph.D., Michigan State), C. Lawrence Evans (Government) (Ph.D., Rochester), David H. Feldman (Economics) (Ph.D., Duke), William J. Hausman (Economics) (Ph.D., Illinois), James S. Heller (Law) (J.D., San Diego), Carl H. Hershner (Marine Science) (Ph.D., Virginia), Robert L. Hicks (Economics) (Ph.D., Maryland) (on leave Spring 2018), Christopher D. Howard (Harriman Professor of Government and Public Policy) (Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Eric Kades (Law) (J.D.,Yale), Linda A. Malone (Marshall-Wythe Foundation Professor of Law) (J.D., Duke), Paul Manna (Government) (Ph.D., Wisconsin), John J. McGlennon (Government) (Ph.D., Johns Hopkins), Alan J. Meese (Law) (J.D., Chicago), Jennifer M. Mellor (Economics and Director, Schroeder Center for Health Policy ) (Ph.D., Maryland) (on leave Spring 2018), Carlisle E. Moody, Jr. (Economics) (Ph.D., Connecticut), Roy L. Pearson (Chancellor Professor of Business Administration) (Ph.D., Virginia), Alfredo M. Pereira (Economics) (Ph.D., Stanford), Ronald B. Rapoport (John Marshall Professor of Government) (Ph.D., Michigan), Ronald H. Rosenberg (Law) (J.D., University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill), Martin Schmidt (Economics) (Ph.D., Colorado State), Sarah L. Stafford (Economics, Public Policy and Law) (Ph.D., Johns Hopkins) (on leave 2017-2018), Dennis L. Taylor (A. Marshall Acuff, Jr. Professor of Marine Science) (Ph.D., Wales), and Michael J. Tierney (George and Mary Hylton Professor of International Relations) (Ph.D., University of California-San Diego).

Associate Professors

Dorothy E. Finnegan (Education) (Ph.D., Pennsylvania State), Susan S. Grover (Law) (J.D., Georgetown), Peter McHenry (Economics) (Ph.D., Yale), and John Parman (Economics) (Ph.D., Northwestern) (on leave Fall 2017).

Assistant Professors

Brian Beach (Economics) (University of Pittsburgh), Christopher Freiman (Philosophy)(Ph.D., University of Arizona),  John Lopresti (Economics) (Ph.D., Purdue), Priya Mukherjee (Economics) (Ph.D., Cornell University), and Ariel Ben-Yishay (Economics) (Ph.D., University of Maryland).

Adjunct Professors

Christopher Able (Law) (J.D., William & Mary), and Christopher Byrne (Head of Law Research and Instructional Services) (J.D., Harvard).

Research Professors

Carrie Dolan (Schroeder Health Policy Center) (M.P.H., Tulane), Harriet O. Duleep (Center for Public Policy Research) (Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Troy W. Hartley (Virginia Sea Grant) (Ph.D., University of Michigan), Ingo Keilitz (Center for Public Policy Research) (Ph.D. Kansas State University), and Louis F. Rossiter (Center for Public Policy Research) (Ph.D., University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill).


Alexandra Josse (Ph.D., Arizona).

Emeritus Professor

David H. Finifter (Ph.D., Pittsburgh).