Sep 18, 2020  
2019 - 2020 Graduate Catalog 
    
2019 - 2020 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

SMS: Administration & Faculty


» SMS Home   » Policies   » Departments   » Course Descriptions   »Faculty  


VIMS/SMS Administrative Officers

John T. Wells Dean and Director
Linda C. Schaffner Associate Dean, Academic Studies
Mark W. Luckenbach Associate Dean, Research and Advisory Services
DaNika N. Robinson Chief Financial Officer
Joseph Martinez Chief Operations Officer
Amy Fisher Director of Development

Office of Academic Studies

Jennifer C. Hay SMS Graduate Registrar and Assistant to the Associate Dean
Contact the Office of Academic Studies  

 

VIMS/SMS Current Faculty

For a complete directory of current faculty, information on their research programs, publications and education activities, click here.

For faculty, by department:

Biological Sciences

Aquatic Health Sciences

Fisheries Science

Physical Sciences


Standish K. Allen, Jr., Professor of Marine Science. B.A., Franklin and Marshall College; M.S., University of Maine; Ph.D., University of Washington. Fisheries Science. ska@vims.edu

Iris C. Anderson, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Colby College; M.S., Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Ph.D., Medical College of Virginia, Virginia Commonwealth University. Biological Sciences. iris@vims.edu

Donna M. Bilkovic, Research Associate Professor of Marine Science. B.S. & M.S., University of Michigan; Ph.D., College of William & Mary. donnab@vims.edu

Richard W. Brill, Affiliate Faculty and Director of CMER. B.A. Lafayette College; M.S. Northeastern University; Ph.D., University of Hawaii. Fisheries Science. rbrill@vims.edu

Mark J. Brush, Associate Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Cornell University; Ph.D., University of Rhode Island. Biological Sciences. brush@vims.edu

Elizabeth A. Canuel, Chancellor Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Stonehill College; Ph.D., University of North Carolina. Physical Sciences. ecanuel@vims.edu

Ryan B. Carnegie, Research Professor of Marine Science. B.A., Rutgers University; M.A., College of William & Mary; Ph.D., University of Maine. Aquatic Health Sciences. carnegie@vims.edu

Randolph M. Chambers, Professor of Biology and Marine Sciences. B.A., Gettysburg College; M.S., University of Massachusetts; Ph.D., University of Virginia. Biological Sciences. rmcham@wm.edu

Grace S. Chiu, Associate Professor of Marine Science. B.S. & M.S., University of British Columbia; Ph.D., Simon Fraser University. Biological Sciences. gschiu@vims.edu

Mary C. Fabrizio, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Fordham University; Ph.D., University of Rhode Island. Fisheries Science. mfabrizio@vims.edu

Carl T. Friedrichs, Loretta and Lewis Glucksman Professor of Marine Science. B.A., Amherst College; Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology/Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution. Physical Sciences. cfried@vims.edu

Marjorie A. M. Friedrichs, Research Professor of Marine Science. B.A., Middlebury College; M.S., M.I.T./Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution Joint Program; Ph.D., Old Dominion University. Biological Sciences. marjy@vims.edu

Donglai Gong, Associate Professor of Marine Science, B.A./B.S., Rutgers University; M.S., Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Ph.D., Rutgers University. Physical Sciences.

John E. Graves, Chancellor Professor of Marine Science. B.A., Revelle College, University of California, San Diego; Ph.D., Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego. Fisheries Science. graves@vims.edu

Robert C. Hale, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., B.A., Wayne State University; Ph.D., College of William & Mary. Aquatic Health Sciences. hale@vims.edu

Courtney K. Harris, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., University of Virginia; M.S., University of California, Berkeley; M.S., Ph.D., University of Virginia. Physical Sciences. ckharris@vims.edu

Troy W. Hartley, Research Professor of Marine Science and Director, Virginia Sea Grant. B.S., University of Vermont; M.A., George Mason University; Ph.D., University of Michigan. thartley@vims.edu

Kirk J. Havens, Research Associate Professor of Marine Science and Assistant Director, CCRM. B.S. and M.S. Old Dominion University; Ph.D., George Mason University. kirk@vims.edu

Christopher J. Hein, Associate Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Cornell University; Ph.D., Boston University.  Physical Sciences. hein@vims.edu

Carl H. Hershner, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Bucknell University; Ph.D., University of Virginia. Biological Sciences. carl@vims.edu

Eric J. Hilton, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., M.S., Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst. Fisheries Science. ehilton@vims.edu

John M. Hoenig, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Cornell University; M.S., Ph.D., University of Rhode Island. Fisheries Science. hoenig@vims.edu

David S. Johnson, Assistant Professor of Marine Science, B.S., University of Central Arkansas; Ph.D., Louisiana State University. Biological Sciences. dsjohnson@vims.edu

Matthew L. Kirwan, Associate Professor of Marine Science. B.S., College of William & Mary; Ph.D., Duke University. Physical Sciences. kirwan@vims.edu

Steven A. Kuehl, Professor of Marine Science. B.A., Lafayette College; M.S., Ph.D., North Carolina State University. Physical Sciences. kuehl@vims.edu

Robert J. Latour, Professor of Marine Science. B.A., Western New England College; M.BMA, Ph.D., North Carolina State University. Fisheries Science. latour@vims.edu

Romuald N. Lipcius, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., University of Rhode Island; Ph.D., Florida State University. Fisheries Science. rom@vims.edu

Mark W. Luckenbach, Professor of Marine Science and Associate Dean, Research & Advisory Services. B.S., University of North Carolina; Ph.D., University of South Carolina. Biological Science. luck@vims.edu

Roger L. Mann, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., University of East Anglia; Ph.D., University of Wales. Fisheries Science. rmann@vims.edu

Jan R. McDowell, Research Associate Professor of Marine Science, B.A., University of Iowa; Ph.D., College of William & Mary. Fisheries Science. mcdowell@vims.edu

Robert J. Orth, Professor of Marine Science. B.A., Rutgers University; M.A., University of Virginia; Ph.D., University of Maryland. Biological Sciences. jjorth@vims.edu

William G. Reay, Research Associate Professor of Marine Science. B.S., George Mason University; M.A., College of William & Mary; Ph.D., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. Physical Sciences. wreay@vims.edu

Kimberly S. Reece, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., University of Rochester; Ph.D., Cornell University. Aquatic Health Sciences. kreece@vims.edu

Emily B. Rivest, Assistant Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Cornell University; Ph.D., University of California. Biological Sciences. ebrivest@vims.edu

David B. Rudders, Research Assistant Professor of Marine Science. B.S., University of Massachusetts; M.S. & Ph.D., College of William & Mary. Fisheries Science. rudders@vims.edu

Linda C. Schaffner, Professor of Marine Science and Associate Dean of Academic Studies. B.A., Drew University; M.A., Ph.D., College of William & Mary. Biological Sciences. linda@vims.edu

Andrew Scheld, Assistant Professor of Marine Science. B.S., University of Massachusetts, Amherst; M.S., University of Rhode Island; Ph.D., University of Washington. Fisheries Science. scheld@vims.edu

Rochelle D. Seitz, Research Professor of Marine Science. B.A., Colgate University; M.A., Ph.D., College of William & Mary. Biological Sciences. seitz@vims.edu

Elizabeth H. Shadwick, Assistant Professor of Marine Science. B.S., McGill University; M.S., University of Alberta; Ph.D., Dalhousie University. Physical Sciences. shadwick@vims.edu

Jian Shen, Research Associate Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Shanghai Teacher's University, M.A., Ph.D., College of William & Mary. Physical Sciences. shen@vims.edu

Jeffrey D. Shields, Moses D. Nunnally Term Professor of Marine Science. B.A., University of California, Santa Barbara; M.S., University of California, Berkeley; Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara. Environmental and Aquatic Animal Health. jeff@vims.edu

Juliette L. Smith, Assistant Professor of Marine Science. B.S., University of Buffalo, SUNY; M.S., University of New Hampshire; Ph.D., College of Environmental Science and Forestry, SUNY. Aquatic Health Sciences. jlsmith@vims.edu

Walker O. Smith, Jr., Professor of Marine Science. B.S., University of Rochester; Ph.D, Duke University. Biological Sciences. wos@vims.edu

Richard A. Snyder, Professor and Director of Eastern Shore Laboratory. B.S., College of Charleston; M.S., Ph.D., University of Maryland. Biological Sciences. rsnyder@vims.edu

Bongkeun Song, Associate Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Dongguk University, Korea; M.S., Ph.D., Rutgers University. Biological Sciences. songb@vims.edu

Deborah K. Steinberg, CSX Professor of Marine Science. B.A., University of California, Santa Barbara; Ph.D., University of California, Santa Cruz. Biological Sciences. debbies@vims.edu

Michael A. Unger, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Michigan State University; M.S., Ph.D., College of William & Mary. Aquatic Health Sciences. munger@vims.edu

Wolfgang Vogelbein, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., Southampton College; M.S., California State University; Ph.D., Louisiana State University. Aquatic Health Sciences. wolf@vims.edu

Harry Wang, Professor of Marine Science. B.S., National Taiwan University; Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University. Physical Sciences. wang@vims.edu

Andrew R. Wargo, Associate Professor of Marine Science, B.A., University of Vermont; Ph.D., University of Edinburgh. Aquatic Health Sciences. arwargo@vims.edu

John T. Wells, Professor of Marine Science and Dean and Director. B.S., Virginia Polytechnic Institute; M.S., Old Dominion University; Ph.D., Louisiana State University. Physical Sciences. wells@vims.edu

Kevin C. Weng, Associate Professor of Marine Science, B.A., Williams College; M.S., University of Hawaii (Manoa); Ph.D., Stanford University. Fisheries Science. kevinweng@vims.edu

Yinglong Joseph Zhang, Research Professor of Marine Science; B.S., Peking University, China; M.S./Ph.D. The University of Wollongong, Australia. Physical Sciences. yjzhang@vims.edu

VIMS/SMS Emeritus Faculty

Henry Aceto, Jr., Professor Emeritus of Biology and Marine Science. B.S., State University of New York, Albany; M.S., University of California, Berkeley; Ph.D., University of Texas.

Herbert M. Austin, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., Grove City College; M.S., University of Puerto Rico; Ph.D., Florida State University.

Thomas A. Barnard, Jr., Assistant Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.A., Milligan College; M.A., College of William & Mary.

Rudolf H. Bieri, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. Dr.rer.nat. Johann Gutenberg University.

John D. Boon, III, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.A., Rice University; M.A., Ph.D., College of William & Mary.

Eugene M. Burreson, Chancellor Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., Eastern Oregon College; M.S., Ph.D., Oregon State University.

John M. Brubaker, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. A.B., Miami University; Ph.D., Oregon State University.

Robert J. Byrne, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. M.S., Ph.D., University of Chicago.

Mark E. Chittenden, Jr., Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.A., Hobart College; M.S., Ph.D., Rutgers University.

Fu-Lin Chu, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., The Chinese University of Hong Kong; M.S., University of Rochester; Ph.D., College of William & Mary.

Robert J. Diaz, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.A., LaSalle College; M.S., Ph.D., University of Virginia; D.H.C., University of Gothenberg, Sweden.

William D. DuPaul, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., Bridgewater State College; M.A., Ph.D., College of William & Mary.

David A. Evans, Associate Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.A., M.A., Cambridge University; D.Phil., Oxford University.

Leonard W. Haas, Associate Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. A.B., Dartmouth College; M.S., University of Rhode Island; Ph.D., College of William & Mary.

Carl H. Hobbs, III, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., Union College; M.S., University of Massachusetts; Ph.D., University of Mississippi.

Robert J. Huggett, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. M.S., Scripps Institution of Oceanography; Ph.D., College of William & Mary.

Howard I. Kator, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., Harpur College; Ph.D., Florida State University.

Albert Y. Kuo, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., National Taiwan University; M.S., University of Iowa; Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University.

Maurice P. Lynch, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. A.B., Harvard University; M.A., Ph.D., College of William & Mary.

Jerome P.-Y. Maa, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S. and M.S., National Cheng-Kung University; Ph.D., University of Florida.

William G. MacIntyre, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., M.S., Ph.D., Dalhousie University.

John D. Milliman, Chancellor Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S. University of Rochester; M.S., University of Washington (Seattle); Ph.D., University of Miami.

Kenneth A. Moore, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., Pennsylvania State University; M.S., University of Virginia; Ph.D., University of Maryland. Biological Sciences.

John A. Musick, A. Marshall Acuff, Jr. Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. A.B., Rutgers University; M.A., Ph.D., Harvard University.

Michael C. Newman, A Marshall Acuff Jr., Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.A. and M.S, University of Connecticut; M.S. and Ph.D., Rutgers University. Aquatic Health Sciences.

Maynard M. Nichols, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., Columbia University; M.S., Scripps Institution of Oceanography; Ph.D., University of California at Los Angeles.

Frank O. Perkins, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.A., University of Virginia; M.S., Ph.D., Florida State University.

James E. Perry, III, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., Murray State University; Ph.D., College of William & Mary.

Evon P. Ruzecki, Associate Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. A.B., Knox College; M.S., University of Wisconsin; Ph.D., University of Virginia.

Gene M. Silberhorn, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., Eastern Michigan University; M.S., West Virginia University; Ph.D., Kent State University.

Dennis L. Taylor, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.A., University of Pennsylvania; Ph.D., University of Wales.

N. Bartlett Theberge, Jr., Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., J.D., College of William & Mary; LL.M., University of Miami.

Peter A. Van Veld, Associate Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; M.A., College of William & Mary; Ph.D., University of Georgia.

Kenneth L. Webb, Chancellor Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. A.B., Antioch College; M.S., Ph.D., Ohio State University.

Richard L. Wetzel, Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., M.S., University of West Florida; Ph.D., University of Georgia.

Frank J. Wojcik, Assistant Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.S., University of Massachusetts; M.S., University of Alaska.

L. Donelson Wright, Chancellor Professor Emeritus of Marine Science. B.A., University of Miami; M.A., University of Sydney; Ph.D., Louisiana State University.