Jun 22, 2021  
2012 - 2013 Graduate Catalog 
    
2012 - 2013 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Mason: Faculty



It’s hard to follow an ‘A+’ and top 5 in the world. But not if you’re the Mason faculty.

For the second year in a row they received an ‘A+’ in the Business Week ranking of faculty and they are perennially ranked among the best in the country by Princeton Review.

So we mean it when we say our faculty are some of the best in the world. Our Fulbright Scholars, entrepreneurs, consultants, and scholars are teachers, too. And they take the last one very seriously.

Ask any student, past or present, and you’ll immediately know that the faculty always bring their best game and don’t let you leave until they’re convinced you’ve brought yours. Because they know what real business is — they’ve studied it, they’ve consulted in it, and they won’t let you down.

They’re good. Really good.

Accounting

Howard Busbee, Visiting Professor
B.A., M.L.T., and J.D., The College of William & Mary.
CPA and Member of the Virginia Bar
Areas of interest are taxation, estate and financial planning and accounting.
757-221-2641; Howard.Busbee@mason.wm.edu

Jamie Diaz, Assistant Professor of Business, B.S., New York University.
Jamie.Diaz@mason.wm.edu

Elizabeth P. Foster, Lecturer in Business, B.S., University of Richmond;
Elizabeth.Foster@mason.wm.edu

William T. Geary, Associate Professor, Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Studies
CPA, B.S. and M.A.S., University of Illinois; Ph.D., Northwestern University.
Focuses on managerial accounting and control with application in healthcare, financial reporting and analysis, and behavioral accounting.
757-221-2888; William.Geary@mason.wm.edu

Denise Jones, Associate Professor
B.S., B.A., Bryant College; M.B.A., M.S. in Finance and Ph.D., University of Colorado. Specializes in financial accounting and reporting.
757-221-2876; Denise.Jones@mason.wm.edu

Marc P. Picconi, Associate Professor of Business, B.S., Stanford University; M.S. and Ph.D., Cornell University
mmppicconi@wm.edu; 757-221-2935

James E. Smith, CPA, John S. Quinn Professor
B.A., Southeastern Louisiana University; M.B.A., University of Houston; Ph.D., University of Arizona.
Specializes in federal income taxation with emphasis on the individual, the corporation, and the partnership.
757-221-2883; James.Smith@mason.wm.edu

Kimberly J. Smith, Associate Professor
B.S., Fairmont State College; M.P.A., West Virginia University; Ph.D., University of Maryland.
Explores areas in managerial and financial accounting, including off-balance sheet arrangements and performance reporting.
757-5221-2867; Kim.Smith@mason.wm.edu

G. Thomas White, CPA, Assistant Dean of Accounting Programs and Associate Professor
B.A. and M.B.A., The College of William & Mary; Ph.D., Virginia Polytechnic Institute.
Focused interests in financial accounting and reporting, financial statement analysis, analysts’ forecasts, earnings management and information asymmetry.
757-221-2887; Tom.White@mason.wm.edu

Alexander Woods, Assistant Professor
B.S. Wright State University; M.B.A., Colorado State University; Ph.D., Eli Broad College of Business, Michigan State University.
Research interests are managerial accounting and control, performance measurement and evaluation, incentives, and resource allocation. His current research evaluates the benefits and costs
757-221-2967; Alex.Woods@mason.wm.edu

Business Law

Ned W. Waxman, Professor
B.S., University of Pennsylvania; J.D., Emory University.
A nationally recognized expert on bankruptcy law.
757-221-2859; Ned.Waxman@mason.wm.edu

Entrepreneurship

Richard J. Ash, Clinical Associate Professor
B.S., Boston University; JD, Fordham University School of Law.
Experience and expertise in Venture Capital, Entrepreneurship, Finance and in the creation, financing and management of Small Business Enterprises.
757-221-2736; Richard.Ash@mason.wm.edu

Ron Monark, Clinical Lecturer of Business, A.B., The College of William & Mary, M.B.A., The University of Chicago.
757-221-7712; Ron.Monarch@mason.wm.edu

Finance and Economics

Julie Agnew, Assistant Professor
B.S., The College of William & Mary; Ph.D., Boston College.
Dungan Fellow for the 2005-2006 academic year.
Interests in the investment area, behavioral finance and 401(k) investment strategies.
757-221-2672; Julie.Agnew@mason.wm.edu

Vladimir Atanasov, Cabell Faculty Fellow and Assistant Professor of Business
B.S. and M.A., University of National and World Economy, Sofia, Bulgaria; Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University.
Areas of interest Corporate Governance, Law and Finance, Institutional Investors, Portfolio Optimization, Auctions, Bargaining and Coalition Formation.
757-221-2954; Vladimir.Atanasov@mason.wm.edu

John F. Boschen, Brinkley-Mason Professor
B.S., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; M.A., University of Delaware; Ph.D., Brown University.
Specializes in economics, capital markets, business cycles, monetary policy and inflation.
757-221-2886; John.Boschen@mason.wm.edu

Herrington J. Bryce, Life of Virginia Professor
B.A., Mankato State University; Ph.D., Syracuse University.
Interests include corporate finance, cost and risk management, nonprofit finance and urban investment.
757-221-2856; Herrington.Bryce@mason.wm.edu

Claire Rosenfeld Cici, Assistant Professor of Finance
B.S., Saint Joseph’s University; Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Claire.Rosenfeld@mason.wm.edu

Gjergji Cici, Assistant Professor
B.S. and Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Current research interests include portfolio performance evaluation, institutional investors, agency issues in the mutual fund industry, and behavioral finance.
757-221-1826; Gjergji.Cici@mason.wm.edu

Scott Gibson, Professor of Business
B.S. and Ph.D., Boston College
Research interests include institutional investor trading strategies and effects on stock prices, optimal design of mutual fund exchange rules, and the use of derivative securities in lowering corporate financing costs.
757-221-1673; Scott.Gibson@mason.wm.edu

H. Katherine Guthrie, Assistant Professor
B.A., University of California, Davis; M.A. and Ph.D., University of Michigan.
Primary research interest is in the area of corporate governance and earnings management.
757-221-2832; Katherine.Guthrie@mason.wm.edu

James R. Haltiner, Frank Batten Professor for Distinguished Teaching in the MBA Program; Professor
B.A., M.B.A., and D.B.A., University of Virginia.
Special interests in equity valuation and portfolio management issues.
757-221-2904; James.Haltiner@mason.wm.edu

Deborah A. Hewitt, Assistant Dean of MBA Programs and Clinical Associate Professor of Business
B.A., The College of William & Mary; Ph.D., Duke University.
Special interests in international finance, telecommunications industry, and new approaches to market valuation and risk assessments
757-221-2064; Deborah.Hewitt@mason.wm.edu

Colin R. Jones, Visiting Assistant Professor of Business, B.B.A., New Mexico State University; M.B.A., The College of William & Mary.
Special interest in Venture Capital, Private Equity, M&A, IPOs.
Colin.Jones@mason.wm.edu

John Merrick, Richard S. Reynolds Associate Professor B.A., La Salle University; M.A. and Ph.D., Brown University. Research interests have been shaped by experiences on Wall Street. Recent projects analyzed government bond futures markets, impact of default recovery assumptions on emerging market debt valuation, trading strategies in deposit rate futures markets and the US Treasury’s debt buyback program.
757-221-2721; John.Merrick@mason.wm.edu

Lawrence B. Pulley, Dean, School of Business,
T. C. and Elizabeth Clarke Professor of Business,
B.A., College of William & Mary; Ph.D., University of Virginia.
757-221-2891; Larry.Pulley@mason.wm.edu

Franklin E. Robeson, Associate Dean for Faculty and Hays T. Watkins Professor of Business
B.B.A., University of Cincinnati; M.B.A. and D.B.A., Indiana University.
Specializes in applied economics and information technology and its impact on organizational strategy.
757-221-1770; Bud.Robeson@mason.wm.edu

John S. Strong, CSX Professor of Finance and Economics
B.A., Washington and Lee University; M.P.P. and Ph.D., Harvard University.
Specializes in corporate finance, international project finance, and airline industry economics and operations.
757-221-2864; John.Strong@mason.wm.edu

Management Communications

Robert H. Stowers, Clinical Associate Professor
B.A. and M.Ed., American International College; Ed.D., Rutgers University. Research interests: effective teaching, communication strategy, leadership communication, business presentations, professional writing, interpersonal communication, presentation design and graphics, and communication proficiency and assessment.
757-221-1241; Robert.Stowers@mason.wm.edu

Marketing

Ronald Hess, Jr., Associate Professor
B.A., James Madison University; M.B.A., The College of William & Mary; Ph.D., Virginia Polytechnic Institute.
Research focuses on the relationship between marketing success and service satisfaction and on business-to-business marketing.
757-221-2676; Ron.Hess@mason.wm.edu

Michael Luchs, Assistant Professor
B. A. and B.S.E., Tufts University; M.B.A., University of Virginia; M.S. and Ph.D. University of Texas at Austin.
Work experiences have both motivated and informed his research interests, which include product design, creativity and “ethical consumerism.”
757-221-2960; Michael.Luchs@mason.wm.edu

Nichole V. Montgomery, Assistant Professor
B.S., M.A. and Ph.D., Ohio State University.
Research focuses on issues related to consumer behavior and judgment and decision making.
757-221-2819; Nicole.Montgomery@mason.wm.edu

Todd A. Mooradian, Professor of Business
B.S., University of New Hampshire; M.B.A., Wake Forest University; Ph.D. University of Massachusetts.
Specializes in consumer behavior, international and cross-cultural marketing, and marketing strategies
757-221-2871; Todd.Mooradian@mason.wm.edu

James M. Olver, Associate Professor
B.A., M.B.A. and Ph.D., University of Virginia.
Interests in marketing management, product management and consumer behavior.
757-221-2861; Jim.Olver@mason.wm.edu

Don R. Rahtz, Professor
B.A. and M.B.A., Northern Illinois University; Ph.D., Virginia Polytechnic Institute.
Pursues studies in industrial marketing, macro-marketing, public policy and marketing, quality of life, transitional economy market assessment and development for domestic and International export and sustainable environmental marketing, marketing communications.
757-221-2866; Don.Rahtz@mason.wm.edu

Lawrence J. Ring, Professor and Executive MBA Alumni, Chair in Distinguished EMBA Teaching
B.S., M.S. and Ph.D., Purdue University.
Focuses on marketing management, marketing strategy and retailing strategy.
757-221-2903; Larry.Ring@mason.wm.edu

K. Scott Swan, Associate Professor
B.S., Taylor University; M.B.A., University of South Carolina; Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin.
Specializes in product development and design, global marketing and export management.
757-221-2860; Scott.Swan@mason.wm.edu

Lisa Szykman, Associate Professor
B.S., Pennsylvania State University; M.B.A., Villanova University; Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Interests in consumer use of information in the marketplace, attitude formation and resistance, motivated reasoning and emotions/mood and product choice.
757-221-2908; Lisa.Szykman@mason.wm.edu

Operations and Information Technology

Dorothea LaChon Abraham, Associate Professor of Business
B.S. United States Military Academy, West Point; M.B.A., Old Dominion University; Ph.D., University of Georgia.
Interests include wireless/ubiquitous computing and organizational decision-making for information systems and technology, and healthcare informatics.
757-221-2803; Chon.Abraham@mason.wm.edu

Paul Blossom, Clinical Associate Professor
B.S., Michigan State University; M.S., Michigan State University; Ph.D., Michigan State University.
Areas of expertise include lean manufacturing and service businesses, analytical expertise in operations research techniques, scheduling techniques and statistics, process improvement.
Paul.Blossom@mason.wm.edu

Tonya Boone, Associate Professor
B.S., University of Kansas; M.B.A., The College of William & Mary; Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Specializes in technology management, supply chain strategies and service operations.
757-221-2073; Tonya.Boone@mason.wm.edu

James R. Bradley, Professor
B.M.E.E., General Motors Institute; M.B.A., Dartmouth College; Ph.D., Stanford University.
His work makes extensive use of applied probability, optimization and computer simulation.
757-221-2802; James.Bradley@mason.wm.edu

Richard G. Flood, Frank L. Batten Associate Professor for Distinguished Teaching in the MBA Program
B.S., Indiana University; Ph.D., University of Florida.
Interest in quantitative methods, statistics and decision making under uncertainty.
757-221-2894; Richard.Flood@mason.wm.edu

Ram Ganeshan, Professor
MMS, Birla Institute of Technology and Science; M.S., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University.
Areas of expertise include supply chain management, digital marketplaces, logistics and inventory management. Industries: Retail, Hi-Tech, Chemical, and Heavy Manufacturing.
757-221-1825; Ram.Ganeshan@mason.wm.edu

Hector H. Guerrero, Professor of Business
B.S.E.E. and M.B.A., University of Texas at Austin; Ph.D., University of Washington.
Areas of interest: decision analysis, operations management, and expert systems.
757-221-2850; Hector.Guerrero@mason.wm.edu

Rajiv Kohli, Associate Professor
LLB, University of Poona, Pune, India; M.B.A., Center for Management Research & Development, Pune India; M.S., Ball State University; Ph.D., University of Maryland.
Research interests in healthcare information systems, electronic commerce, collaborative technologies, and IT based control mechanisms.
757-221-3267; Rajiv.Kohli@mason.wm.edu

Tracy Johnson-Hall, Assistant Professor
B.S., Vanderbilt University, M.B.A., The Pennsylvania State University, Ph.D., Clemson University.
Area of interest: Supply Chain and Operations Management.
Tracy.Johnson-Hall@mason.wm.edu

Scott McCoy, Assistant Professor
B.A., Flagler College; M.S., Middle Tennessee State University; Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh.
Interests include technology and innovation, information systems, technology acceptance, electronic commerce, and knowledge management.
757-221-2062; Scott.McCoy@mason.wm.edu

David H. Murray, Assistant Dean of Information Technology and Clinical Assistant Professor, B.SC. and M.B.A., Concordia University; Ph.D., University of Michigan.
Interests include manufacturing and systems design and analysis.
757-221-1749; David.Murray@mason.wm.edu

William R. Stewart, Jr., David L. Peebles Professor
B.S., Tufts University; M.S., Johns Hopkins University; D.B.A., University of Maryland.
Research interests include Analysis of Competition in Energy Markets, Combinatorial Optimization, and Negotiation and Game Theory.
757-221-2858; William.Stewart@mason.wm.edu

Organizational Behavior

Inga M. Carboni (2007), Assistant Professor of Business, A.B., Bowdoin College; M.A., Tufts University; M.A. and Ph.D., Boston College.
Current research examines interpersonal and intergroup processes from a social network perspective. She has two streams of ongoing academic research: one focused on interpersonal and intergroup conflict and the other on intra-team knowledge transfer.
757-221-1883; Inga.Carboni@mason.wm.edu

Anthony DiBella, Visiting Associate Professor
B.A., Trinity College; M.A. American University; M.B.A. University of Rhode Island; Ph.D. Sloan School of Management.
Research interests include The adaptation of managerial forms and practices across organizational boundaries. The role of leaders in promoting organizational culture, change, and learning.
Anthony.DiBella@mason.wm.edu

Karen D. Locke, W. Brooks George Professor
B.S., University College, London University; Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University.
Interests in management and leadership, qualitative research methodologies, language, identity and culture.
757-221-2889; Karen.Locke@mason.wm.edu

Ronald R. Sims, Floyd Dewey Gottwald, Sr. Professor
B.A., University of Steubenville; M.S.W., University of Maryland; Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University.
An expert in organizational behavior, organizational change, leadership, business ethics, human resource management and experiential learning.
757-221-2855; Ronald.Sims@mason.wm.edu

Jeanne Wilson, Associate Professor
B.S., St. Joseph’s College; M.S., Purdue University; Ph.D., Carnegie Mellon University.
Research focuses on management issues that arise in spatially distributed groups.
757-221-2824; Jeanne.Wilson@mason.wm.edu

Strategic Management

Brent Allred, Associate Professor
B.S. and M.B.A., Brigham Young University; Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University.
Research interests in the management of technology and innovation, global competitive strategy and organizational structure, and gaining and sustaining competitive advantages in emerging markets.
757-221-3266; Brent.Allred@mason.wm.edu

Edward Felton, Clinical Professor
B.A. University of Richmond; M.B.A. and D.B.A., Harvard University.
Specializes in business ethics and strategy.
757-221-7780; Edward.Felton@mason.wm.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Benjamin Bolger, Adjunct Professor
Benjamin.Bolger@mason.wm.edu

Frank Brake, Adjunct Professor
Frank.Brake@mason.wm.edu

George Daniel Gaske, Adjunct Lecturer
George.Gaske@mason.wm.edu

Jim Carleton, Adjunct Professor
Jim.Carleton@mason.wm.edu

Kerry Christian, Adjunct Professor
B.S. and M.S., Old Dominion University.
Kerry.Christian@mason.wm.edu

Frank Ferrante, Adjunct Professor
B.S.E.E., Virginia Tech; M.S. EPP, Carnegie Mellon University; M.S. EE, Syracuse University.
Frank.Ferrante@mason.wm.edu

Peter Gore, Adjunct Lecturer
B.A., Stetson University; M.B.A. University of Notre Dame; CFA; CFP.
phgore@wm.edu

James A. Hewitt, Jr., Adjunct Professor, Director MBA Field Consultancy Program
B.S., University of Richmond; M.B.A., University of Virginia.Experienced in developing financing strategies, currency and liquidity risks, joint ventures, start-ups, reorganizations and leadership training.
757-221-2035; James.Hewitt@mason.wm.edu

Rex Homlin
B.S. in Engineering, Tulane University; Master of Business Administration, Tulane University; Master of Science in Organization Development, American University
Rex.Holmlin@mason.wm.edu

Harold Martin, Adjunct Professor
A.B., The College of William & Mary; M.B.A., Virginia Commonwealth University; Certified Public Accountant (CPA).
Interest in Valuation, Forensic Accounting and Litigation consulting and expert witness services.
Harold.Martin@mason.wm.edu

L.D. Metcalfe, Adjunct Professor
B.S., University of Richmond; M.B.A., The College of William & Mary
LD.Metcalfe@mason.wm.edu

Roy Pearson, Chancellor Professor Emeritus
B.S., Commerce and Ph.D. in Economics from the University of Virginia.
Roy.Pearson@business.wm.edu

Bradley Riddlehoover, Adjunct Professor
B.S., and B.A., Presbyterian College; J.D. The College of William & Mary; LL.M. NY University School of Law.
Bradley.Riddlehoover@mason.wm.edu

Peter Shaw, Adjunct Lecturer
M.B.A., The College of William & Mary

Robert Williams, Adjunct Professor
M.B.A., Wharton
Robert.E.Williams@mason.wm.edu